I was reading this post about stay at home moms being undervalued in court and expected to work full time no matter how old their children are and it has me scared, worried about our future…I haven’t worked in 12yrs , I don’t have any level of a college education nor any professional skills. How am I going to survive and support my kids as months turn into years? What is my life going to look like? 

I hate to admit this, but I was a wild child through my early twenties…I never lived by budget, planded for my future, paid bills on time, keep financial records, or knew what I had spent in a month . Heck, I didn’t even know how to cook or do laundry! I got pregnant too young and basically had my grandparents raise my 1st baby. I was extremely irresponsible, refused to grow up but not because I didn’t want to…. I didn’t know HOW TO………I worked, always did since the age of 13 but these weren’t rent paying jobs and after moving out on my own as a single mom,I worked a couple of jobs just to pay rent…… I never thought about the future….I lived 1 day at a time…..

3 kids later, I met this man who spoke  to me and treated me like no other man ever had. I felt I had finally met someone who truly understood me….He brought out the best in me. I grew so much and became a really good mom and despite not wanting to , a good stay at home wife who eventually found a lot of pride in the home I had built and kids I was raising into responsible, respectful little humans who would contribute to society…..

At the same time, he was extremely controlling and he was in charge of everything! My only job was to raise the kids with manners and good grades, be a great wife, cook, keep our home clean and in order,and everything else in between………… 
Now, he wants to take everything away. He wants to walk away and go on with his life like we never existed. My kids thought, felt like they finally had a father and he did a great job but now , it’s like we/ they never mattered…

Are there any success stories from uneducated and or stay at home moms post divorce?